Zoodles & Noodles

Tonight was a Pinterest win! I attempted to make a home made bolognese and zoodles dish I found on Pinterest. I modified a few ingredients, but all in all, it was a success.

I’ve never made a pasta sauce from scratch.  I’ve also never had zucchini in place of noodles. As much of a zucchini fanatic that I am, I’ve never really spiraled any. Still haven’t. (Wink, wink)

Anyways…here’s what I did.

Ingredients:
BOLOGNESE

-1 lb extra lean beef (original asked for turkey)

-28 oz can of tomatoes  (original called for whole,  but next time I will use crushed)

-2 tbs of tomato paste

-1/2 chopped white onion

-1 clove, minced garlic

-4 tbs of olive oil (original asked for 2 tbs)

-2 tsp of sugar

-salt & pepper to taste

ZOODLES

-HEB spiral zucchini (you can spiral cut yourself,  but prespiral are a busy mom’s best friend)

-2 tbs olive oil

EXTRA

Grated/shredded Parmesan

Directions:

In a large sauté pan,  heat up olive oil.  Add minced garlic and chopped onion.  Cook until garlic is golden brown and onions are translucent.  Took 4 minutes on medium heat. Add beef, and cook until browned.

While beef is browning, sauté zucchini noodles in 2 tbs of olive oil. Cook to your preferred consistency. I cooked them for a good 5 minutes even though the package said 3 to 4.

Once the beef is cooked, add canned tomatoes. You can drain them, but I chose to pour the liquid in as well…a pasta ladle with holes will keep the extra liquid from the dish. With canned tomatoes, add tomato paste. Then add sugar, and stir. Add salt and pepper to taste. Let simmer for 5 more minutes.

Place zoodles in bowl and pour desired amount of bolognese on top. Sprinkle Parmesan and enjoy!

NOTE: My picky son helped me make the bolognese, and he loved it. However, he drew the line at the zoodles, so I made him some regular angel hair pasta.

2 thoughts on “Zoodles & Noodles

Leave a Reply

