Baked Orange Pepper Tilapia W/Brown Rice & Quinoa

20170220_175256
Baked Orange Pepper Tilapia W/ Brown Rice & Quinoa

I’m a big fan of Tilapia. Yes, I know that there are healthier fish out there, but it’s still a healthy piece of fish, and I like how it doesn’t taste too fishy. Yesterday, I tried a recipe I haven’t  used in a while. I had to modify it of course though, mainly because I didn’t think of making it until the last-minute, and I was missing ingredients.

Disclaimer: I am NOT a recipe writer, so please forgive me. 😉

Ingredients (Feeds 3, or 2 depending on how hungry one’s husband is)

Prep Time: 10-15 minutes

Cook Time: 30 minutes

  • 3 Tilapia Fillets
  • 1 mandarin (easy peel Halo)
  • half a white onion (optional)
  • 2 cloves of garlic, finely chopped (optional) or 1 tsp of garlic powder (optional)
  • handful of cilantro
  • 1/2 tsp of coconut oil (separated) – any cooking oil can be used
  • salt
  • orange pepper seasoning
  • one packet of Uncle Ben’s Medley: Brown Rice and Quinoa with Garlic

20170220_182538
A busy mom’s saving grace…we love it!

Line a baking dish with foil – make sure to cut a large enough pieces of foil because you’re going to create a pouch like container for the fish. Pour about 1/4 of tsp of coconut oil (or any cooking oil you prefer) on dish. Option 1 (onion): Slice half an onion and line the bottom of the dish.Place fillets in the dish and pour another 1/4 of tsp of coconut oil on the fish. Then sprinkle orange pepper seasoning to your liking. My family loves it, so I sprinkle generously. I even season both sides…you don’t have to though. Option 2 (garlic or garlic powder): throw in chopped garlic cloves or throw a dash of garlic powder on the fillets. Add salt to liking…we’re not much of a salt family, so I just give a pinch on each fillet. Peel the mandarin and squeeze the juice over the fish…I even throw in the remaining pieces of mandarin, but that’s up to you. Cover fillets with cilantro. My family loves cilantro, so I use stems and all, but if you’re not too crazy for it, you can finely chop it and just make sure that it’s in the baking dish.

20170220_170444

Close foil pouch and place in a preheated oven at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. After 25 minutes, cook your Uncle Ben’s microwaveable rice and quinoa according to its instructions. It only takes 90 seconds. 😉

20170220_175234

Once the fish is cooked, plate both fish and rice on your plate and enjoy. A nice medley of vegetables would also go nice with this. I love green beans with it.

Enjoy!!!!!!!!!

4 thoughts on “Baked Orange Pepper Tilapia W/Brown Rice & Quinoa

Leave a Reply

